Skip to content

Twins in separate worlds

19/08/2012
Mo Farah from Somalia was sent to England with his two older brothers to live with their father. Won two gold medals for GB at the Olympic Games 2012 in London.

Mo Farah from Somalia was sent to England with his two older brothers to live with their father. Won two gold medals for GB at the Olympic Games 2012 in London.

His twin brother Hassan stayed behind, living in Djibouti and Somalia. Pictured doing the 'Mobot' outside his home in Hargeisa, Somaliland.

His twin brother Hassan stayed behind, living in Djibouti and Somalia. Pictured doing the ‘Mobot’ outside his home in Hargeisa, Somaliland.

Revealed: We find the twin brother Mo Farah was forced to abandon as a child in war-torn Somalia and he tells the harrowing story of how they were separated aged eight by their parents’ agonising decision

‘We were sporty kids, Mo and me. But it was too hot; too hot to do almost anything. We played football in the streets and we ran around a lot, playing chase and always beating the other boys.

‘Of course Mo and I were on a par as runners,’ he said. ‘Sometimes I would beat him as we chased each other around, sometimes he would beat me. But now he has had the most technically-advanced training and advice available in the world, with top running tracks and gyms to work in, and I have had nothing.

‘Who knows what I could have become? We could have been famous twin Olympic athletes. I couldn’t help thinking about that when I was watching him in the races on television. But he’s my brother, I love him and I rejoice in his great successes.’

From → The blog

Comments are closed.

