Skip to content

Pro-Palestinian bullying

17/05/2012

Irish writer Gerard Donovan accuses pro-Palestinian group of ‘bullying’ him to boycott Israel

Israeli diplomats say Ireland one of the top three countries in Europe in terms of anti-Israel hostility; Irish Justice Minister accuses activists of ‘cyberbullying.’

Boycott Israel etat raciste

Boycott Israel etat raciste – A demonstrator displays a sign reading “Boycott Israel, racist state” outside the Belgian foreign affairs building during a protest in Brussels. Photo Reuters

Irish writer Gerard Donovan has attacked the pro-Palestinian boycott movement for trying to “bully” him to abstain from visiting Israel and take part in the International Writers Festival in Jerusalem. Donovan, a prominent novelist and poet, accused the Ireland Palestine Solidarity Campaign (IPSC) of “outright intimidation.”

“If I had been well, I would have gone to Jerusalem,” he told the newspaper. “It is the job of the novelists to write things people don’t want to read and to go places where other people don’t want to go. Nobody tells me where I can or cannot read my work. I’m not going to allow myself to be drawn into any political controversy for any people’s ends, I don’t care how many other writers they line up, it is completely irrelevant to me.”

— Read the full story at Irish writer Gerard Donovan accuses pro-Palestinian group of ‘bullying’ him to boycott Israel

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. here now

Comments are closed.

